Behrman Undergraduate Society of Fellows

Juniors and seniors who are committed to the study of humanistic inquiry meet formally once a month during term to discuss and debate matters of common interest in the company of a few members of the faculty and distinguished guests. Additional events are scheduled throughout the year.

2021-22 Director: Jeff Dolven, Professor of English

Associate Director: Bora Yoon, Music

Meet the 2021-22 members

Guests have included:

  • Dr. Nasser Abourahme (School of Architecture)
  • Professor Bridget Alsdorf (Art & Archaeology)
  • Professor Yelena Baraz (Classics)
  • Professor Bill Bialek (Physics)
  • Professor Ann Blair (History, Harvard University)
  • Dr. Noah Buchholz (Linguistics)
  • Professor Michael Cook (Near Eastern Studies)
  • Professor Matthew Desmond (Sociology)
  • Professor Maria DiBattista (English and Comparative Literature)
  • Professor Rubén Gallo (Spanish & Portuguese Languages and Cultures)
  • Professor Bill Gleason (English)
  • Dr. Dannelle Gutarra Cordero (African American Studies)
  • Professor Wendy Heller (Music)
  • Professor Thomas Laqueur (History, University of California at Berkeley)
  • Professor Simone Marchesi (French & Italian)
  • Dr. Zia Mian (Princeton School of Public and International Affairs)
  • Professor Eziaku Nwokocha (Religion)
  • Professor Joyce Carol Oates (Creative Writing)
  • Dr. Natalie Prizel (English, Society of Fellows)
  • Professor Kim Lane Scheppele (Princeton School of Public and International Affairs)
  • President Shirley Tilghman
  • Professor Autumn Womack (African American Studies)
  • Professor Michael Wood (English)
  • Professor Monica Youn (Lewis Center for the Arts)
How to Apply

Prepare the following:

  • Identify 3 college courses that have been of great value to you and for each course write 3-4 sentences explaining why
  • Write a one-page letter to the Committee explaining why you wish to be a member of the Behrman Undergraduate Society of Fellows and what you would like it ideally to be
  • Identify two Princeton faculty members who can attest to your academic achievement, interest in the humanities, and potential for the Society
  • Order your official transcript in PDF format

Complete the application using the above information.


The deadline for the 2022-2023 academic year application is Friday, April 1, 2022.

Humanities Council Logo
Italian Studies Logo
American Studies Logo
Humanistic Studies Logo
Ancient World Logo
Canadian Studies Logo
ESC Logo
Journalism Logo
Linguistics Logo
Medieval Studies Logo
Renaissance Logo
Film Studies Logo