Chairs and Executive Directors of the Humanities Council


  • 2021 onward: Esther Schor, Leonard L. Milberg ’53 Professor of American Jewish Studies; Professor of English; inaugural Behrman Professor in the Humanities
  • 2016–2021: Eric Gregory, Professor of Religion
  • 2014–2016: Denis Feeney, Giger Professor of Latin; Professor of Classics
  • 2006–2014: Gideon Rosen, Stuart Professor of Philosophy; Chair of the Department of Philosophy
  • 2002–2006: Anthony Grafton, Henry Putnam University Professor of History
  • 1994–2002: Alexander Nehamas, Edmund N. Carpenter II Class of 1943 Professor in the Humanities, Emeritus; Professor of Philosophy and Comparative Literature, Emeritus
  • 1989–1994: Victor Brombert, Henry Putnam University Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures and Comparative Literature, Emeritus
  • 1982–1989: W. Robert Connor GS ’61, Andrew Fleming West Professor of Classics, Emeritus
  • 1974–1982: Edward D. Sullivan, Avalon Professor of Humanities; Professor of French and Comparative Literature, Emeritus
  • 1971–1974: A. Walton Litz, Jr., Holmes Professor of Belles Lettres; Professor of English, Emeritus
  • 1970–1971: Samuel D. Atkins, Andrew Fleming West Professor of Classics, Emeritus
  • 1953–1970: Whitney J. Oates, Avalon Professor of Humanities; Ewing Professor of Greek Language and Literature; Andrew Fleming West Professor of Classics, Emeritus

Executive Directors

  • 1979–2013: Carol Rigolot, previously Romance Languages and Literatures Lecturer
  • 2013 onward: Kathleen Crown, previously Director of Studies at Mathey College; Lecturer in the Princeton University Writing Program; and Director of the Science and Technology Program, Freshman Scholars Institute
Humanities Council Logo
Italian Studies Logo
American Studies Logo
Humanistic Studies Logo
Ancient World Logo
Canadian Studies Logo
ESC Logo
Journalism Logo
Linguistics Logo
Medieval Studies Logo
Renaissance Logo
Film Studies Logo