2019-2020 Haarlow Prizes Awarded

February 2, 2021

Two Haarlow prizes and two honorable mentions were awarded over the summer to students who delivered exceptional papers to a 200-Level Humanistic Studies course during the academic year, 2019-2020.

The winners are Priyanka Aiyer ’23 and Sandra Chen ’23. The honorable mentions went to Trace Nuss ’23 and Hana Widerman ’23.

Aiyer was recognized for her Sappho paper, “Fragment 22”, submitted to HUM 216-217 in Fall 2019. The second prize was for Chen’s paper, “The Love of the Skylark” also submitted to HUM 216-217.

The two honorable mentions were for Widerman’s HUM 216-217 paper, “Truth and Invention” and Nuss’ HUM 218-219 paper, “The Irony of Greed”.

The Haarlow prizes are awarded by the Humanistic Studies program in memory of the late A. William Haarlow III ’63, who cared deeply about Humanistic Studies. His generosity and that of his family have helped make the program flourish.

Humanities Council Logo
Italian Studies Logo
American Studies Logo
Humanistic Studies Logo
Ancient World Logo
Canadian Studies Logo
ESC Logo
Journalism Logo
Linguistics Logo
Medieval Studies Logo
Renaissance Logo
Film Studies Logo