Deborah Amos, Ferris Professor of Journalism, Named Winner of 2017 Courage in Journalism Award

October 13, 2017

Deborah Amos, NPR News correspondent and a visiting Ferris Professor of Journalism and lecturer in the Humanities Council, was named winner of the 2017 Courage in Journalism Award, presented by the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF). The award celebrates women journalists who set themselves apart through extraordinary bravery. The announcement was made at a private ceremony in Los Angeles on May 9.

IWMF’s Executive Director, Elisa Lees Muñoz, said, “This year’s awardees are working in countries that largely go unreported in the United States. Often at great risk, they have managed to bring to light some of the most important global stories of our times while facing immense personal hardship and, frequently, intense threats to their personal safety.” She added, “We couldn’t be more thrilled to be recognizing their commitment to press freedom and the pursuit of the truth through our annual awards.”

About the Courage in Journalism Awards

Since its inception in 1990, IWMF has honored more than 100 women journalists from 56 countries as part of its Courage in Journalism Awards program. The 2017 award winners will be recognized in person at ceremonies to be emceed by Cynthia McFadden (NBC News) and Norah O’Donnell (CBS News) in New York on October 18, 2017; by Judy Woodruff (PBS NewsHour) in Washington, D.C. on October 23, 2017; and by Willow Bay (USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism) in Los Angeles on October 25, 2017.

Read more about the IWMF Courage in Journalism Awards and past winners.

Humanities Council Logo
Italian Studies Logo
American Studies Logo
Humanistic Studies Logo
Ancient World Logo
Canadian Studies Logo
ESC Logo
Journalism Logo
Linguistics Logo
Medieval Studies Logo
Renaissance Logo
Film Studies Logo