Executive Committee


Andrew Cole: Professor of English; Director, Gauss Seminars in Criticism

Benjamin C. Baer: Associate Professor of Comparative Literature

Devin Fore: Professor of German

Eric Gregory: Chair, Humanities Council; Director, Stewart Seminars in Religion; Director, Program in Humanistic Studies; Professor of Religion

Brooke Holmes: Robert F. Goheen Professor in the Humanities; Professor of Classics

Russell Leo: Assistant Professor of English

Dan-el Padilla Peralta: Associate Professor of Classics

Rachel Price: Associate Professor, Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Cultures

Irene Small: Assistant Professor, Contemporary Art and Criticism

Gayle Salamon: Professor of English and Gender and Sexuality Studies

Past Executive Committees


The first director of Gauss Seminars was Francis Fergusson, who led the initial seminars in 1949. He was followed by R. P. Blackmur (1957–1965), Joseph Frank (1966–1975), and several others, including Victor Brombert (1986–1989), Michael Wood (1995–2001), Hal Foster, Daniel Heller-Roazen (2007–2014), and Andrew Cole (2015–2019).

Cole was reappointed by the Dean of the Faculty for a second term beginning July 1, 2019.

Humanities Council Logo
Italian Studies Logo
American Studies Logo
Humanistic Studies Logo
Ancient World Logo
Canadian Studies Logo
ESC Logo
Journalism Logo
Linguistics Logo
Medieval Studies Logo
Renaissance Logo
Film Studies Logo