Council of the Humanities Calendar of Events

Monday, February 2

Nader Sohrabi IAS "Reluctant Nationalists: Albanians and Ottomans on the Brink" 202 Jones 12:00pm

Tuesday, February 3

Wednesday, February 4

Padraic Scanlan Harvard Copper Money, Anti-Slavery and Empire in West Africa 211 Dickinson 4:30pm

Thursday, February 5

Morten Pedersen U Copenhagen The Great Indoors: Paradoxes of Inwardness Among Mongolian and Danish Protestants 219 Aaron Burr 4:30pm
Colin Phillips U Maryland Linguistics Illusions: Some Recent Surprises 15 Joseph Henry 4:30pm
Henning Borm U Konstanz Procopius of Ceasarea and the Sasanian Empire: Images of Persia in Late Antique Historiography 010 East Pyne 4:30pm
Concert Isabelle Faust, Violin & Alexander Melnikov, Piano Richardson 8:00pm

Monday, February 9

Royall Tyler Australian National U Murasaki Shikibu and Proust: On Translating "The Tale of Genji" 216 Aaron Burr 12:00pm
Chi-ming Yang U Penn Lacquer, Ornament, and 18th-century Race Science 102 Jones Hall 12:00pm
Amy Singer IAS and Tel Aviv U Enter, Riding on an Elephant 202 Jones 12:00pm

Tuesday, February 10

Symposium Humanistic Approaches to Mental Health Care in the Age of Biological Psychiatry Andrew Solomon in conversation with Joao Biehl, Tanya Luhrmann, Ronald Comer • moderated by Amy Borovoy 202 Jones 12:00pm
Jennifer Borland; Martha Easton Oklahoma State U; Seton Hall U Money in the Middle Ages Lecture Series: Wealth, Power, and the Ambitious Collecting of Medieval Art in America: John Hammond, Jr.; Raymond Pitcairn 010 East Pyne 4:30pm
Andrew Solomon Writer Public Lecture 50 McCosh 6:00pm

Wednesday, February 11

Dan Edelstein Stanford Revolution in the Name of Revolution: On Political Authority and Time 105 Chancellor Green 4:30pm
Evie Shockley and Meg Wolitzer poet; author Althea Ward Clark W'21 Reading Series Berlind 4:30pm

Thursday, February 12

Eric Santner U of Chicago The Weight of All Flesh: Subject-Matter of Political Economy 106 McCormick 4:30pm
Mary Mikhael Near East School of Theology The Christians of Syria and Lebanon and their Arab Spring 202 Jones 4:30pm
Michelle Clayton Brown Moving Bodies of the Avant-Garde 105 Chancellor Green 4:30pm
Concert Chicago Symphony Winds Richardson 8:00pm

Friday, February 13

Fintan O'Toole Princeton Unspeakable Horror: How Ireland Forgot the Great War 2014 Robert Fagles Memorial Lecture Stewart Theater, 185 Nassau Street 4:30pm

Saturday, February 14

Ian Thompson Newcastle U, England On the Versailles Gardens under Louis XIV 101 McCormick 3:00pm

Monday, February 16

Peter Filkins Bard College at Simon's Rock Apollo's Gaze: Toward a Theory of Translation Revision 216 Aaron Burr 12:00pm
Meg Jacobs Princeton Panic at the Pump: The Energy Crisis and American Politics in the 1970s 210 Dickinson Hall 12:00pm

Tuesday, February 17

Philip Hardie Cambridge Late Latin poetry of cosmos. Pagan and Christian 010 East Pyne 4:30pm

Wednesday, February 18

Concert Brentano String Quartet with Joyce DiDonato, mezzo-soprano Richardson 7:30pm

Thursday, February 19

Mauro Calcagno UPenn Spectral Poetics: The Wooster Group’s Production of Busenello/Cavalli’s La Didone 127 East Pyne 4:30pm

Friday, February 20

CWR Thesis Students and Marie Howe poet Emerging Writers Series Labyrinth 6:00pm

Saturday, February 21

Princeton University Jazz Faculty Recital Composing in the Moment Taplin 8:00pm

Monday, February 23

Stefan Kamola Princeton The Romance of Genghis Khan: Alexander the Great in Mongol Historical Memory 216 Aaron Burr 12:00pm
Matthew Karp Princeton Visions of Modernity in the Proslavery Argument 210 Dickinson Hall 12:00pm
Tariq Ali writer; filmmaker Edward Said Memorial Lecture: The State of Palestine 10 McCosh 5:00pm

Tuesday, February 24

Wednesday, February 25

Janet Stephens Hair Archaeologist A Really Bad Hair Day: The Science Behind Ovid's Amores 1.14 103 Scheide Caldwell 4:30pm

Thursday, February 26

Moira Fradinger Yale Antigone in Peru: from Lima to Huamanga 010 East Pyne 4:30pm
Thomas Laqueur UC Berkeley Why Do We Care About Dead Bodies? 106 McCormick 4:30pm
Etty Terem Rhodes U Old Texts, New Practices: Islamic Reform in Modern Morocco 202 Jones 4:30pm
Concert Marc-Andre Hamelin, piano Richardson 8:00pm

Friday, February 27

Concert Princeton University Glee Club and the Nassau Sinfonia Richardson 7:30pm

Sunday, March 1

Concert Richardson Chamber Players: "Pierrot's Stage" Richardson 3:00pm

Monday, March 2

Lance Hewson U of Geneva Facts, Frictions and Fictions in Translation Theory 216 Aaron Burr 12:00pm

Tuesday, March 3

Robert Germany Haverford College All the World's a Stage: Contemplatio Mundi in Early Roman Theater 010 East Pyne 4:30pm

Wednesday, March 4

Leo Bersani The Department of English Eberhard L. Faber Lecture TBD 4:30pm
Karen Green U Melbourn and IAS Locke, Enlightenment, and Liberty in the Works of Catherine Macaulay and her Contemporaries Lecture Hall, West Building, IAS 5:00pm

Thursday, March 5

Jonathan Eburne Penn State The Great Surrealist Bargain Basement 127 East Pyne 4:30pm
Columba Stewart St. John's U Outracing Ignorance: Rescuing the Christian Manuscripts and Cultures of Syria and Iraq 202 Jones 4:30pm

Friday, March 6

Concert Princeton University Orchestra with winners of PUO concerto competition • also performing Respighi's Pines of Rome Richardson 7:30pm

Saturday, March 7

Symposium Producing Waste, Producing Space School of Architecture, Betts Auditorium 9:30am
Concert Princeton University Orchestra with winners of PUO concerto competition • also performing Respighi's Pines of Rome Richardson 7:30pm

Monday, March 9

Erika Gilson Princeton The Quest for a Common "Alphabet" and Common Language for Turkic 216 Aaron Burr 12:00pm

Tuesday, March 10

Evelyn Lincoln Brown Woodcuts, Paintings, Music and the Law: Parasole Family Enterprises in Early Modern Rome 127 East Pyne 4:30pm

Wednesday, March 11

A.E. Stallings and Akhil Sharma poet; writer Althea Ward Clark W'21 Reading Series Berlind 4:30pm
Royall Tyler Australian National U Eyewitnesses to Strange Times: Hino Nako (Takemuki-ga-ki) and Nijō Yoshimoto (Ojima no kuchizusami) 202 Jones Hall 4:30pm
Mark Aronoff Stony Brook U Competition as a Factor in the Organization of Linguistic Morphology 15 Joseph Henry 4:30pm

Thursday, March 12

Richard R. John Columbia U Antimonopoly: An American History 211 Dickinson 4:30pm

Saturday, March 21

Concert "Meet the Music: Inspector Pulse Pops a String" Richardson 1:00pm

Monday, March 23

Jackie Jay Eastern Kentucky U From Grammar to Translation: Current Controversies in Ancient Egyptian Linguistics 216 Aaron Burr 12:00pm
Pnina Lahav Boston U Golda Meir: American roots, Zionist life TBA 4:30pm

Tuesday, March 24

Wednesday, March 25

Jean Comaroff Harvard "The Return of Khulekani Khumalo, Zombie Captive: Person, Time and Conduct in South Africa" The Clifford Geertz Commemorative Lecture 219 Aaron Burr 4:30pm
Christopher Jones Harvard Isidore of Pelusium, Sophist and Monk 010 East Pyne 4:30pm

Thursday, March 26

Concert Lisa Batiashvili, Violin and Paul Lewis, Piano Richardson 8:00pm

Friday, March 27

Glenn Patterson Belfast novelist Readings from his recent work Stewart Theater, 185 Nassau Street 4:30pm
CWR Thesis Students and Philipp Meyer writer Emerging Writers Series Labyrinth 6:00pm

Monday, March 30

Wednesday, April 1

Thursday, April 2

Riviel Netz Stanford U "The Aesthetics of Mathematics" 106 McCormick 4:30pm
Eric Bulson Claremont U Wireless and the Invention of the Avant-Garde 127 East Pyne 4:30pm

Monday, April 6

Dierdre Moloney Princeton Mixed Status Families and US Immigration Policy from the Early Twentieth Century to the Present 102 Jones Hall 12:00pm
Slavoj Žižek Abjection, ugliness, disgust: a delimitation from Kristeva. TBD 4:30pm

Tuesday, April 7

Wednesday, April 8

Mario Calabresi Editor-In-Chief: Lastampa Two Italian Nights: From terrrorism to Economic Doom 321 East Pyne 4:30pm

Thursday, April 9

Kate Paesani Wayne State U The Multiliteracies Framework: A New Paradigm for Collegiate Language Teaching 010 East Pyne 4:30pm
Devin Johnston and Robert Adamson Poetry Reading On Avant-Garde Print Networks 105 Chancellor Green 4:30pm

Friday, April 10

Regina Ui Chollatain University College, Dublin “A ‘New’ Gaelic League Idea: Douglas Hyde 100 Years On” Stewart Theater, 185 Nassau Street 4:30pm

Monday, April 13

Slavoj Žižek Ontology and Sexual Difference with Alenka Zupančič and Mladen Dolar TBD 4:30pm

Wednesday, April 15

Rachel Kushner and John Yau poet; author Althea Ward Clark W'21 Reading Series Berlind 4:30pm
Slavoj Žižek Do we live in end times? A critique of millenarist reason TBD 4:30pm

Thursday, April 16

Christopher Bush Northwestern Avant-Garde Futures 127 East Pyne 4:30pm
Concert Australian Chamber Orchestra with Martin Frost, clarinet Richardson 8:00pm

Friday, April 17

Conference Princeton The English Legal Imaginary, 1500-1700: Early Modern Law, Politics, and Literature Bobst Center 8:00am
The Eighteenth Century Symposium Revolution in Thought: The French Revolution and Long-Term Cultural Change 211 Dickinson Hall 1:00pm
Poulomi Saha UC Berkeley “Easter Risings: The Irish Insurrection in India” Stewart Theater, 185 Nassau Street 4:30pm

Saturday, April 18

Conference Princeton The English Legal Imaginary, 1500-1700: Early Modern Law, Politics, and Literature Bobst Center 8:00am
The Eighteenth-Century Symposium Revolution in Thought: The French Revolution and Long-Term Cultural Change 211 Dickinson Hall 9:00am

Monday, April 20

Jennifer Ratner-Rosenhagen U Wisconsin, Madison Sophia Rising: The Making of "Women's Wisdom" in American Thought, 1960s-80s 210 Dickinson Hall 12:00pm

Tuesday, April 21

Thursday, April 23

Andrew Preston Cambridge U National Security: The History of an Idea 211 Dickinson 4:30pm
Pierre Joris On Paul Celan 105 Chancellor Green 4:30pm

Friday, April 24

CWR Thesis Students, C.A. Conrad, and Dorothea Lasky poets Emerging Writers Series Labyrinth 6:00pm
Concert Princeton University Orchestra and Glee Club performing Verdi's Requiem Richardson 7:30pm

Saturday, April 25

Concert Princeton University Orchestra and Glee Club performing Verdi's Requiem Richardson 7:30pm

Monday, April 27

Rosina Lozano Princeton The Spanish Soundscape of Territorial New Mexico 210 Dickinson Hall 12:00pm

Thursday, April 30

Johanna Malt King's College London Casts, Impressions and the Found Body in Avant-Garde and Contemporary Art 127 East Pyne 4:30pm
Concert Anthony Roth Costanzo, Countertenor and Bryan Wagorn, Piano Richardson 8:00pm

Friday, May 1

Concert The Ghost Trio Iarla O’Lionaird, Ivan Goff and Cleek Schrey play Irish traditional songs Taplin 4:30pm

Saturday, May 9

The Humanities Council prepares this calendar as a public service. We invite departments and programs to submit their events to Mary Borchers, Editor of the Calendar, so the listing can be as complete as possible. 

 

Joseph Henry House (map)
Princeton University
Princeton, New Jersey 08544
Telephone: (609) 258-4717
Fax: (609) 258-2783
E-mail: hum@princeton.edu
Princeton University Logo