Council of the Humanities Calendar of Events

Sunday, November 23

Concert Richardson Chamber Players: "Divine Winds" Richardson 3:00pm

Monday, November 24

Vayos Liapis IAS Tragedy’s Solace: Aeschylus, Seferis, and the Greek Civil War 103 Scheide Caldwell 6:00pm

Monday, December 1

Lital Levy Princeton The Perils of (Mis)Translation in Israel/Palestine 216 Aaron Burr 12:00pm
Diego Poli Universita' di Macerata; Council of the Humanities The Italian Language between Latin and Dialect 105 Chancellor Green 4:30pm
Bill T. Jones Story/Time: The Life of an Idea Princeton Public Library 7:00pm

Tuesday, December 2

Marcelo Ridenti UNICAMP, Brazil "Protests in Brazil, 2013" 216 Aaron Burr 12:00pm
Diego Poli Humanities Council Short-term Visiting Fellow Leopardi, Pascoli e iL Futurismo 321 East Pyne 4:30pm
Helen Morales UC Santa Barbara "Contextualizing Colluthus: Sexual Politics in Late Antiquity" 010 East Pyne 4:30pm

Wednesday, December 3

Michael Lackner U Erlangen The Minor Ways Have Their Reason - Discourses on Divination in Chinese Tradition 202 Jones Hall 4:30pm
Alan Stahl Princeton U Workshop in Medieval Coins and Money 1-8H First Floor Firestone Library 4:30pm

Thursday, December 4

Sam Wang Princeton The Cerebellum, Sensitive Periods, and Autism 101 Peretsman-Scully 12:30pm
Emily I. Dolan Harvard "The Invention of Newly Invented Instruments" 106 Woolworth 106 4:30pm
Daniel Selcer Duquesne "What is Textual Materialism? An Early Modern Perspective" 010 East Pyne 4:30pm
Stacie Taranto Ramapo College Kitchen Table Politics: Conservative Women and Family Values in the Seventies 211 Dickinson 4:30pm
Ann Fabian Rutgers History of Science Colloquium: "The Frog Book—A Life History in Herpetology " 230 Dickinson Hall 4:30pm
David Ball Princeton False Starts: The Rhetoric of Failure and the Making of American Modernism Labyrinth 6:00pm
David Ball Princeton False Starts: The Rhetoric of Failure and the Making of American Modernism Labyrinth Books Princeton 6:00pm

Friday, December 5

David Kaiser MIT "Coordinated Blasts: Migrating Skills in the Early Cold War from H-bombs to the Cosmos" for pre-circulated paper contact jhoule@princeton.edu 211 Dickinson 10:15am
Michael Della Rocca Yale The Parmenidean Ascent: Action and Other Case Studies Bowl 2, Woodrow Wilson 4:00pm
Tristram Hunt British historian and broadcaster The Socialism of The Ragged Trousered Philanthropists: Robert Noonan and the Modern Labour Party Stewart Theater, 185 Nassau Street 4:30pm
Michael Cook, Mark Beissinger, Jack Tannous, Kanchan Chandra, Kevan Harris Princeton What Makes Islam Unique? A Panel Discussion Labyrinth Books Princeton 5:30pm

Saturday, December 6

Sunday, December 7

Monday, December 8

Angus Burgin Johns Hopkins "The Post-Industrial Revolution" RSVP to cwkessel@princeton.edu by December 3 029 Robertson Hall 12:00pm
Josh Guild and Malik Rahim Princeton; community activist "New Orleans" The Princeton Mellon Forum for Research on the Urban Environment 107 School of Architecture 12:00pm
Michael Gordin Princeton "The Road to Gloro: Max Talmey and the Einsteinian Language" 216 Aaron Burr 12:00pm
Neil Rudenstine Princeton Ideas of Order: A Close Reading of Shakespeare's Sonnets Labyrinth 6:00pm

Tuesday, December 9

Andrew Hamilton Princeton "The Dumbarton Oaks Tunic: A Sartorial Statement of Inca Imperial Power" 216 Aaron Burr 12:00pm
Peter Gordon Harvard "On Heidegger & Politics: A Mini-Symposium on the Schwarze Hefte" 010 East Pyne 4:30pm
Neil Rudenstine Princeton Ideas of Order: A Close Reading of Shakespeare's Sonnets Labyrinth Books Princeton 6:00pm

Wednesday, December 10

Owen Stanwood BC and IAS From the Desert to the Refuge: The Saga of New Bordeaux West Building Lecture Hall, IAS 5:00pm

Thursday, December 11

April Alliston Princeton "Notes on the Early Modern Invention of Pornography: From Pietro Aretino to the Marquis de Sade" 127 East Pyne 4:30pm

Friday, December 12

Steven Hahn U Penn "The South, the West, and the Imperial American Nation-State" for pre-circulated paper contact jhoule@princeton.edu 211 Dickinson 10:15am
Jonathan Price Tel Aviv U The Problem of Synagogues and their Inscriptions in the Ancient World 209 Scheide Caldwell House 11:00am

Sunday, December 14

Kyle Harper Oklahoma University "Rethinking the Plague of Cyprian: Pandemics and Passages to Late Antiquity" TBA 1:30pm

Thursday, December 18

Susan Solomon author The Science of Play: How to Build Playgrounds that Enhance Children's Development Labyrinth 6:00pm

Wednesday, February 4

Padraic Scanlan Harvard U Copper Money, Anti-Slavery and Empire in West Africa 211 Dickinson 4:30pm

Thursday, February 5

Morten Pedersen U Copenhagen "The Great Indoors: Paradoxes of Inwardness Among Mongolian and Danish Protestants" 219 Aaron Burr 4:30pm
Concert Isabelle Faust, Violin & Alexander Melnikov, Piano Richardson 8:00pm

Wednesday, February 11

Evie Shockley and Meg Wolitzer poet; author Althea Ward Clark W'21 Reading Series Berlind 4:30pm

Thursday, February 12

Concert Chicago Symphony Winds Richardson 8:00pm

Friday, February 13

Fintan O'Toole Princeton “Unspeakable Horror: How Ireland Forgot the Great War” 2014 Robert Fagles Memorial Lecture Stewart Theater, 185 Nassau Street 4:30pm

Wednesday, February 18

Concert Brentano String Quartet with Joyce DiDonato, mezzo-soprano Richardson 7:30pm

Thursday, February 19

Mauro Calcagno UPenn Spectral Poetics: The Wooster Group’s Production of Busenello/Cavalli’s La Didone 127 East Pyne 4:30pm

Friday, February 20

CWR Thesis Students and Marie Howe poet Emerging Writers Series Labyrinth 6:00pm

Saturday, February 21

Princeton University Jazz Faculty Recital "Composing in the Moment" Taplin 8:00pm

Thursday, February 26

Moira Fradinger Yale "Antigone in Peru: from Lima to Huamanga" 010 East Pyne 4:30pm
Concert Marc-Andre Hamelin, piano Richardson 8:00pm

Friday, February 27

Concert Princeton University Glee Club and the Nassau Sinfonia Richardson 7:30pm

Sunday, March 1

Concert Richardson Chamber Players: "Pierrot's Stage" Richardson 3:00pm

Wednesday, March 4

Karen Green University of Melbourne and IAS Locke, Enlightenment, and Liberty in the Works of Catherine Macaulay and Her Contemporaries 211 Dickinson 5:00pm

Friday, March 6

Concert Princeton University Orchestra with winners of PUO concerto competition • also performing Respighi's Pines of Rome Richardson 7:30pm

Saturday, March 7

Concert Princeton University Orchestra with winners of PUO concerto competition • also performing Respighi's Pines of Rome Richardson 7:30pm

Wednesday, March 11

A.E. Stallings and Akhil Sharma poet; writer Althea Ward Clark W'21 Reading Series Berlind 4:30pm
Royall Tyler Australian National U Eyewitnesses to Strange Times: Hino Nako (Takemuki-ga-ki) and Nijō Yoshimoto (Ojima no kuchizusami) 202 Jones Hall 4:30pm

Thursday, March 12

Richard R. John Columbia U Antimonopoly: An American History 211 Dickinson 4:30pm

Saturday, March 21

Concert "Meet the Music: Inspector Pulse Pops a String" Richardson 1:00pm

Wednesday, March 25

Jean Comaroff Harvard "The Return of Khulekani Khumalo, Zombie Captive: Person, Time and Conduct in South Africa" The Clifford Geertz Commemorative Lecture 219 Aaron Burr 4:30pm

Thursday, March 26

Concert Lisa Batiashvili, Violin and Paul Lewis, Piano Richardson 8:00pm

Friday, March 27

Glenn Patterson Belfast novelist Readings from his recent work Stewart Theater, 185 Nassau Street 4:30pm
CWR Thesis Students and Philipp Meyer writer Emerging Writers Series Labyrinth 6:00pm

Thursday, April 2

Riviel Netz Stanford U "The Aesthetics of Mathematics" 106 McCormick 4:30pm

Friday, April 10

Regina Ui Chollatain University College, Dublin “A ‘New’ Gaelic League Idea: Douglas Hyde 100 Years On” Stewart Theater, 185 Nassau Street 4:30pm

Wednesday, April 15

Rachel Kushner and John Yau poet; author Althea Ward Clark W'21 Reading Series Berlind 4:30pm

Thursday, April 16

Concert Australian Chamber Orchestra with Martin Frost, clarinet Richardson 8:00pm

Friday, April 17

Conference Princeton "The English Legal Imaginary, 1500-1700: Early Modern Law, Politics, and Literature" Bobst Center 8:00am
The Eighteenth-Century Symposium Revolution in Thought: The French Revolution and Long-Term Cultural Change 211 Dickinson 9:00am
Poulomi Saha UC Berkeley “Easter Risings: The Irish Insurrection in India” Stewart Theater, 185 Nassau Street 4:30pm

Saturday, April 18

Conference Princeton The English Legal Imaginary, 1500-1700: Early Modern Law, Politics, and Literature Bobst Center 8:00am

Thursday, April 23

Andrew Preston Cambridge U National Security: The History of an Idea 211 Dickinson 4:30pm

Friday, April 24

CWR Thesis Students, C.A. Conrad, and Dorothea Lasky poets Emerging Writers Series Labyrinth 6:00pm
Concert Princeton University Orchestra and Glee Club performing Verdi's Requiem Richardson 7:30pm

Saturday, April 25

Concert Princeton University Orchestra and Glee Club performing Verdi's Requiem Richardson 7:30pm

Thursday, April 30

Concert Anthony Roth Costanzo, Countertenor and Bryan Wagorn, Piano Richardson 8:00pm

Friday, May 1

Concert The Ghost Trio Iarla O’Lionaird, Ivan Goff and Cleek Schrey play Irish traditional songs Taplin 4:30pm

Saturday, May 9

The Humanities Council prepares this calendar as a public service. We invite departments and programs to submit their events to Mary Borchers, Editor of the Calendar, so the listing can be as complete as possible. 

 

Joseph Henry House (map)
Princeton University
Princeton, New Jersey 08544
Telephone: (609) 258-4717
Fax: (609) 258-2783
E-mail: hum@princeton.edu
Princeton University Logo